Manitoba Crop Alliance introduces new board of directors

Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2024 (Carman, MB) Effective immediately, there are a few new faces representing wheat, barley, flax, corn and sunflower farmers across Manitoba.

Manitoba Crop Alliance (MCA) is proud to introduce its 2024-26 board of directors, including five new members: Doug Martin (East Selkirk), Leigh Smith (Oak Lake), Sally Parsonage (Baldur), Scott Mowbray (Cartwright) and Sheila Elder (Wawanesa). Martin is a delegate on MCA’s corn committee, Smith is a delegate on the flax committee, Parsonage is a delegate on the sunflower committee, and Mowbray and Elder both sit on the wheat and barley committee.

The new directors join six returning directors on the board:

  • Robert Misko (Roblin) – wheat and barley committee
  • Jonothan Hodson (Lenore) – corn committee
  • Gregg Fotheringham (Reston) – sunflower committee
  • Nick Matheson (Stonewall) – flax committee
  • Boris Michaleski (Ashville) – wheat and barley committee
  • Carl Bangert (Beausejour) – corn committee

Each of the new directors was elected from their respective crop committee during meetings held earlier this month. Together, the new board will be tasked with guiding the organization’s direction and spearheading the creation of its new strategic plan, with the primary goal of maximizing farmer levy dollars by investing in meaningful, independent research, valuable knowledge and targeted advocacy.

“When different perspectives and areas of expertise are added to our board, we are always stronger for it,” says MCA CEO Pam de Rocquigny. “This board of directors strikes an excellent balance between governance experience and fresh ideas, which will serve our farmer members well.”

MCA is also proud to introduce its new board executive for the upcoming year. The board of directors re-elected Robert Misko as chair and Jonothan Hodson as vice-chair.

“I’m excited to have the opportunity to continue serving as MCA’s chair,” Misko says. “I strongly believe in the important work MCA is doing to make our farmer members more productive and sustainable, and I’m proud to contribute to that work however I can.”

The board also elected Sally Parsonage as secretary, replacing outgoing director Warren McCutcheon.

“I initially joined MCA to contribute to the agriculture sector in Manitoba and to broaden my horizons off the farm,” Parsonage says. “I’ve really enjoyed my time as a delegate and am excited to contribute further on the executive. Helping to guide the organization’s research program has been the most interesting and rewarding part of my time with MCA.”

For more information about MCA’s board and crop committees, visit


For more information, please contact:

Cole Christensen
Communications Manager
Manitoba Crop Alliance         

About Manitoba Crop Alliance:
Manitoba Crop Alliance is a non-profit organization established Aug. 1, 2020, representing over 7,700 farmer members. Manitoba Crop Alliance puts their farmer members first and strives to continuously improve the competitiveness and profitability of all crops represented by the organization by focusing on four main areas: research, agronomy, market access and development, and communications. It is through investment in these key areas that Manitoba Crop Alliance can ensure wheat, barley, corn, sunflower and flax are sustainable production choices for Manitoba farmers. For more information, visit