Manitoba Crop Alliance announces results of crop committee delegate nominations

Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2022 (Carman, MB) – Manitoba Crop Alliance (MCA) is pleased to announce the results of the nomination process for delegate positions on its four crop committees. The nomination period ran from Sept. 1 to Oct. 30, 2022.

In total, 17 farmer members were nominated for the 17 available delegate positions across the four crop committees and are thereby elected by acclamation. Among those 17 delegates, seven are new to their respective committees and 10 are incumbents.

“As a farmer-driven organization, MCA relies on crop committee delegates to direct our crop-specific activities in research and market development – as well as our Whole Farm Research and Research on the Farm programs – and determine how check-off dollars are best invested,” says MCA CEO Pam de Rocquigny.

“I would like to commend everyone who put their name forward for taking on the responsibility of representing their peers and helping to guide the direction of our industry.”

Corn: Doug Martin (East Selkirk), Jonothan Hodson (Lenore), Richard Dureault (Fannystelle) and Warren McCutcheon (Carman) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions. They will join Carl Bangert (Beausejour), Hubert Preun (St. Andrews) and Emile Morin (Otterburne) to form MCA’s corn committee.

Flax: Darcy Unger (Stonewall), Eric Fridfinnson (Arborg), Leigh Smith (Oak Lake) and Nick Matheson (Stonewall) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions. They will join Dean Buchanan (Crystal City), Lance Bierens (Winnipeg), Jack Hodgson (Roland) and Lorne Johnson (Arborg) to form MCA’s flax committee.

Sunflower: Darcy Watson (Rossendale), Dave Van Buuren (Pipestone), Gregg Fotheringham (Reston) and Mark McDonald (Virden) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions. They will join Edgar Scheurer (Dugald), Korey Peters (Randolph), Myles Kubinec (Holland) and Sally Parsonage (Baldur) to form MCA’s sunflower committee.

Wheat and Barley: Brad Myskiw (Warren), Robert Misko (Roblin), Ryan Hueging (Woodlands), Scott Mowbray (Cartwright) and Wilfred Harder (Lowe Farm) were nominated for the five available crop committee delegate positions. They will join Boris Michaleski (Ashville), Fred Greig (Reston), Josee Saquet (Laurier), Rauri Qually (Dacotah), and Sheila Elder (Wawanesa) to form MCA’s wheat and barley committee.

The new delegates will join their respective committees in January 2023.

MCA would like to thank outgoing delegates Drew Baker (wheat and barley), Gilbert Sabourin (sunflower), Roger Vaags (sunflower) and Andrew Harris (flax) for their service and dedication.


For more information, please contact:

Pam de Rocquigny
Chief Executive Officer
Manitoba Crop Alliance

About Manitoba Crop Alliance:
Manitoba Crop Alliance is a non-profit organization established Aug. 1, 2020, representing over 7,300 farmer members. Manitoba Crop Alliance puts their farmer members first and strives to continuously improve the competitiveness and profitability of all crops represented by the organization by focusing on four main areas: research, agronomy, market access and development, and communications. It is through investment in these key areas that Manitoba Crop Alliance can ensure wheat, barley, corn, sunflower and flax are sustainable production choices for Manitoba farmers. For more information, visit